The Sol Group has expanded its partnership with the Barbados Rally Club (BRC), just days after the record-breaking success of Sol Rally Barbados. During a well-attended product launch this evening (June 21), it was confirmed that this weekend’s running of the Club’s longest-standing event will be titled the Sol Go Further 55th Anniversary June Safari (June 23/24).
The event takes the Club back to its roots in navigational rallying - the successful running of the first June Rally on June 16, 1957 was the catalyst to the founding of the BRC, and it remains the oldest-established motor sport event in the region with a continuous history. The title was changed to Safari in 2000, reflecting the transition to off-road events, and this year’s ‘June’ is round three of the BRC MudDogs Safari and Chefette MudDogs Novice Safari Championships.
Sol’s Barbados Country Manager, Ezra Prescod, said: “Over the past five years, our partnership with the Barbados Rally Club has helped turn Sol Rally Barbados into an internationally-known event. When the Club approached us to discuss the June Safari, we realised immediately how well it would fit in with our Barbados launch of Sol Go Further . . . and it also enables us to recognize the contribution the Club has made to develop motor sport in the island for the past 55 years.”
BRC MudDogs Chairman Warren Gollop added: “I am really thrilled that we were able to bring the Sol Group on board as title sponsor of the Barbados Rally Club’s longest-running event. Sol’s support of motor sport, especially in this month of June, is unprecedented, and I am pleased they have been willing to go one step further.
“The 55th Anniversary of ‘The June’ makes this a special year for us. It is not only fitting that the Club’s biggest partner should join us for this celebration, but especially so, since the endurance element of what we do fits perfectly with the new brand Sol Go Further launched tonight.”
When entries closed, there were 27 crews listed, including all the key players in what is becoming a closely-fought title chase in both the Overall and Chefette Novice Championships. Good news for the MudDogs is that the list includes 16 drivers or navigators who have not competed this year, which brings the total of competitors involved in MudDogs so far in 2012 to nearly 70.
Divided into four routes, to allow three refreshment breaks for crews during the night, the Safari has been set by Peter Bradshaw and Renata Roett. In thanking them for their efforts to ensure the 55th Anniversary June lived up to the event’s history, Gollop concluded: “Renata has set route three to help competitors anxious for a break from Peter’s style in the wee hours of the morning. Assisting the lead setters, and checking back, has been a team including Judy Bradshaw, Audley and Jeremy Croney and Kenny Croney. These guys promise an exciting Rally of 1,000 Pods . . . as in cow itch pods. Well done to all concerned, and I must add my usual thanks to Chefette Restaurants for keeping our marshals fed during the long night.”
The first crew is scheduled to leave the start of the Sol Go Further 55th Anniversary June Safari at Haggatt Hall, St Michael, at 2.01pm on Saturday, June 23, with the finish at Mahogany Ridge, St Thomas, at approximately 9.00am the following morning. There will be Driver Challenges run back-to-back at Chapel Plantation, St Philip, at 5.00pm on Saturday, which are expected to attract a good number of spectators.
The Prizegiving for the Sol Go Further 55th Anniversary June Safari will be held at the Barbados Clay Target Shooting Association (BCTSA) Club House at Searles, Christ Church, on Monday evening (June 25), once results are made final.

BRC MudDogs Safari Championship
& Chefette MudDogs Safari Novice Championship

Round 3 – June 23/24 – Sol Go Further 55th Anniversary June Safari

Pro Class
1 Mark Western/Dane McConney (Gomez & Western Services/Kar Parts Store Nissan Patrol)
4 Sean Mottley/Michelle Oliver (CIBC First Caribbean International Bank Suzuki Vitara)
5 Ben Norris/Darnley Rayside (Electric Avenue Land Rover Discovery)
6 Leslie Alleyne/Chris O’Neal (Simpson Motors Isuzu D-Max)
7 Gregory Dickenson/Rorie McConney (Toyota Hilux)
9 Adrian Sinckler/Andre Murrell (Suzuki Samurai)
11 Dean Springer/Warrick Eastmond (Eastern Veterinary Clinic Suzuki Sidekick)
16 Chris Armstrong/Wayne Clarke (Toyota Hilux)
17 Sean Gibbs/Brett Barber (Toyota Hilux)
19 Kerry Renee/Jason Downey (Suzuki Samurai)
20 Ryan Corbin/Dustin Edwards (Corbin’s Catering Services/SDRR/Crane & Equipment Toyota Hilux)
22 Michael Ward/Willie Hinds (Suzuki Samurai)
25 Wayne Manning/Kirk Watkins (Toyota Hilux)
27 George Mendes/Gary Mendes (G & G Sales & Service Mitsubishi L200)

Chefette Novice Class
2 Michael Fields/David Lewis (Land Rover Defender 110)
3 Jamal McCollin/Dermot King (K & G Services Suzuki Samurai)
8 Damien Johnson/Daniel Christie (Western Union Suzuki Samurai)
10 Morgan Seale/Rhett D’Andrade (Bougainvillea Beach Resort/Rent-A-Tool Toyota Hilux)
12 Dave Gibson/Andy Williams (Suzuki Samurai)
13 Matthew Durant/Trina Griffith (Green Leaf Design/Midas Magic Auto Valet Suzuki Jimny)
14 Dominic Straker/Nicholas Pinto (Hunte’s Auto Spares/Lucky Horsehoe/Sign Station Nissan Patrol)
15 Joshua Plaza/Rashid Nakhuda (Ramshackle Bar Suzuki Samurai)
18 Aswad Bannister/Nyere Jones (Toyota Hilux)
21 Richard Hinkson/Rasheed Mapp (Suzuki Samurai)
23 Johnny Pinto/Nick Branson (Amsoil/Paints Plus Suzuki Jimny)
26 Samuel Robinson/Carlie Robinson (Forever Fitness Ford Ranger)

For further media information,
Web sites:,

barbados website development and hosting by