photo by Himal Reece/justbajan of Britain’s Rob Swann doing something he probably won’t want to do in the finale of the Flow SuperSprint Series at Stewarts Hill on Sunday

Speed the key to winning inaugural Flow SuperSprint title

Britain’s Rob Swann has once again demonstrated his commitment to island motor sport, as he heads across the Atlantic Ocean for the weekend to compete in Sunday’s (October 28) Flow Winter Sprint at Stewarts Hill, the double-header finale of the Flow SuperSprint Series. He will be the furthest travelled of an overseas entry that also includes Jamaican Jeffrey Panton, who has dominated the motor sport scene in Barbados in recent years, Trinidad & Tobago’s David Coelho and Stan Hartling and Paul Horton from the Turks & Caicos Islands.

While Swann’s 8,500-mile round trip displays some endurance and determination, the most important factor on Sunday will simply be ‘Speed’. The results will be based on the cumulative total of each driver’s best time from Flow King of the Hill in May, added to his best time in each direction on Sunday; the Overall Champion, plus the top front-wheel-drive and rear-wheel-drive crews will each win a 48-inch TV courtesy of Flow, with trophies for the class winners.

The BRC has carried out extensive groundworks to prepare the spectator areas, while Flow has co-ordinated a full-on spectator experience, with DJ, music and event commentary. The event is scheduled to start at 1.00pm, with four timed runs in each direction, first from Mapps to Stewarts Hill, then the reverse, with the finish at around 5.00pm. Once results are made official and the crews have journeyed up from the Service Park at Windward Cricket Club, there will be a Prize-giving on the Flow Stage alongside the Stewarts Hill straight, to which all are invited.

Panton’s third straight victory at Flow KotH this year in the Rubis/Sandals Barbados/KIG Ford Focus WRC06 places him top of the Overall Leader Board, currently just over two seconds up on Swann (Elegant Hotels/Blue Sky Luxury/Cygnet Plant Subaru Impreza WRC S12B). Dane Skeete (Sol/Automotive Art Peugeot 306 Maxi) is comfortably ahead in the Fwd standings and hoping for reliability over the coming weekend; for a driver to be eligible for awards in the Flow SuperSprint Series, he must record a time in each of the three rounds.

The class for rear-wheel-drive cars looks set to be hotly contested, with Barry Mayers (Chefette/Rubis/Digicel/Hankook Ford Fiesta) ahead by the narrow margin of 1.02secs of Andrew Jones (Lucozade/Caribbean Powder Coating/Southern Surf Beach Apartments/AP Jones Pharmacy Ford Escort MkII). Mayers and Skeete are also fighting for SuperModified 2 honours, with the Fiesta driver a mere nine-hundredths of a second ahead following Flow KotH.

New to the Flow SuperSprint Series are Bushy Park regulars Shawn Eversley (SE Performance/L & N Fabricators/Structural Systems/Luxury Hotel & Apartments Guyana Suzuki Swift) and Kevin Wiggins (Therapy Charters/Johnson Auto/Zak Auto/Speed Shop 246 Toyota Starlet), who will run in Group B and Clubman 1 respectively.

Flow Winter Sprint - Sunday, October 28

Provisional running order at October 25:

1 Jeffrey Panton – JAM (WRC Rubis/Sandals Barbados/KIG Ford Focus WRC06)
2 Rob Swann – ENG (WRC Elegant Hotels/Blue Sky Luxury/Cygnet Plant Subaru Impreza WRC S12B)
3 Roger Hill (WRC Esso/Nassco/MaxMeyer/Pennzoil/Energizer/Refresh your Car/California Scents Toyota Corolla WRC)
4 David Coelho – T&T (GpA Subway Ford Fiesta R5)
5 Barry Mayers (SM2 Chefette/Rubis/Digicel/Hankook Ford Fiesta)
6 Dane Skeete (SM2 Sol/Automotive Art Peugeot 306 Maxi)
7 Andrew Jones (SM3 Lucozade/Caribbean Powder Coating/Southern Surf Beach Apartments/AP Jones Pharmacy Ford Escort MkII)
8 Mark Thompson (GpA Glassesco/NKM Clothing/Bio Beauty Day Spa/Automotive Art/SLAM 101.1FM/King’s Ocean/Berger Paints Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX)
9 Andrew Mallalieu (GpA Terra Caribbean Subaru Impreza)
10 Logan Watson (SM3 Leafy Organics/Sign Depot/Subzero Services/Luxe Caribbean Properties/Hankook/Cargo BGI/Stihl BMW M3)
11 Neil Corbin (SM1 Nassco/H Jason Jones/General Electric/Refresh your Car/Valvoline/California Scents/Sun General Insurance/Auto Solutions Toyota Starlet)
12 Jamal Brathwaite (M2 Platinum Motors/Valvoline/Automotive Art/Consumers Guarantee Insurance Honda Civic Type-R)
14 Edward Corbin (M1 Valvoline/Hilti/Express Imports Daihatsu Charmant)
15 Paul Horton - TCI (M2 Arbikie Highland Estate/Java Island/Sky Motorsports/H Racing Citroen DS 3 R3 MAX)
16 Jonathan Still (GpB Sharkey’s Bar/Castrol/Suga Apple Swimwear/Paints Plus/Castrol/Markham Construction BMW M3)
17 Stan Hartling – TCI (SM3 Bambarra Rum BMW M3)
18 Wayne Archer (H2 RW Water/Arrow Construction/Arrow Woodworking/Archers Hall Design Centre/D & A Air Conditioning BMW 325)
19 Clifford Cox (SM1 Snorkel/Deutz/Hankook/Brake Pro/Williams Equipment/MQ Multiquip/JLG/BizNeedz/Yanmar Toyota Starlet)
20 Derek Edwards (M1 Arrow Construction/Arrow Woodworking/D & A Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Peugeot 206)
21 Winston Thompson (SM1 Chicken Pen Racing/Ellesmere Quarries/BCR Car Rental/Seawell Automotive Centre Toyota Starlet)
22 Stuart Garcia (C2 Intelligent Defence Systems/Kirba Inc/Four & Twenty Bakery/ Smith’s Engineering Works/Zaccios BMW 318ti Compact)
23 Paul Inniss (M1 Brydens Insurance/Cockspur/Caribbean Villa Chefs/East Point Grill/Chef Byer Catering/Going Places Travel/Drive-a-Matic Car Rentals/Hugh Autobody/JJ Racing Team/K Tech Auto/Castrol/Sign Station Honda Civic)
24 Calvin Briggs (GpB Ford Sierra)
25 Jermin Pope (C1 Good Time Snacks/Uniform Factory Outlet/Glassesco Honda Civic)
26 Shawn Eversley (GpB SE Performance/L & N Fabricators/Structural Systems/Luxury Hotel & Apartments Guyana Suzuki Swift)
27 Trevor Mapp (C1 JSB Motorsport/Sign Station/Ellesmere Quarries/Valvoline Mitsubishi Colt Mivec RS)
28 Kevin Wiggins (C1 Therapy Charters/Johnson Auto/Zak Auto/Speed Shop 246 Toyota Starlet)
29 John Corbin (H2 Valvoline/Hilti Toyota Corolla)

For media information only. No regulatory value.

For further media information, robin@bradfax.com
Website: www.barbadosrallyclub.com

barbados website development and hosting by caribbeannewmedia.com